UnitedHealthcare Health insurance that includes all Western PA hospitals
Monday January 30 2023
Leave this field empty.

Trio of Nittany Lions named to All-Big Ten football team

PSR Logo
Wisniewski repeats first team Honors; Ogbu and Royster earn second team accolades

Three Penn State Football student-athletes have been selected to the 2010 All-Big Ten Team in voting by the conference coaches and media.

Senior guard Stefen Wisniewski (Bridgeville) was selected first team all-conference by the coaches for the second consecutive year. Senior defensive tackle and co-captain Ollie Ogbu (Staten Island, N.Y.) was selected to the second team by the coaches, as was senior tailback Evan Royster (Fairfax, Va.). The Nittany Lions’ all-time leading rusher, Royster earned first team All-Big Ten accolades last year and second team in 2008.

Wisniewski, who also was a second team all-conference pick in 2008, and Royster become Penn State’s seventh and eighth three-time All-Big Ten honorees, joining former Nittany Lion standouts Courtney Brown, Bobby Engram, Jeff Hartings, Brian Miller, Paul Posluszny and Alan Zemaitis on the distinguished list.

A three-year starter, Wisniewski also was selected to the AFCA All-America Team, announced earlier today. Last week, he became the first Penn State Football student-athlete to be selected an ESPN/CoSIDA Academic All-American three times.

Also a three-year starter, Ogbu leads Penn State with 8.5 tackles for loss this season. He has recorded 46 tackles, including a career-best seven stops last Saturday vs. No. 10 Michigan State in his final Beaver Stadium appearance.

Royster has gained 3,834 career rushing yards and his 29 career rushing touchdowns are tied for fifth in the school records book. Royster has gained 916 yards on 188 carries (4.9) this season with six rushing touchdowns. He needs 84 yards in Penn State’s bowl game to become the first Nittany Lion with three 1,000-yard rushing seasons. Royster is fifth on the team with 21 receptions and one touchdown.

Seven Nittany Lions were selected honorable-mention All-Big Ten, five of whom will return for the 2011 season:  junior safety Drew Astorino (Edinboro), junior tackle Quinn Barham (Durham, N.C.), senior linebacker Chris Colasanti (Leonard, Mich.), junior cornerback D’Anton Lynn (Celina, Texas), junior wide receiver Derek Moye (Rochester), junior defensive tackle Devon Still (Wilmington, Del.) and senior placekicker Collin Wagner (State College).

Senior wide receiver and co-captain Brett Brackett (Lawrenceville, N.J.) was named Penn State’s Big Ten Sportsmanship recipient.

The All-Big Ten football team was announced tonight live on the Big Ten Network.

Penn State is awaiting its bowl destination and opponent and may have an opportunity to play in its 25th New Year’s bowl under Coach Joe Paterno, who is the all-time leader in bowl victories (24) and appearances (36). All bowl selections will be announced the night of Sunday, Dec. 5.

See video
Full size video and summary... Misc YouTube Player 1 Penguins TV Channel
See video
Full size video and summary... Misc YouTube Player 2Penguins TV Channel
See video
Full size video and summary... Misc YouTube Player 3Penguins TV Channel
Josh Bell had not hit a walk-off home run since he was a member of the Altoona Curve in 2015. He changed that Friday with a soaring shot for the left field loonies.
Custom 1North Shore Notes
Francisco Cervelli is as passionate about the current state of Venezuela as anybody you'll find. Last month, the Pirates' catcher spoke passionately about the movement, his country's state of affairs and the future of Venezuela.
Custom 2North Shore NotesPress Room
Gustav Nyquist and Jimmy Howard led the way for the Red Wings, who landed Pittsburgh its fourth straight regulation loss.
Blue LineCustom 3Press Room
Monday night was more than a game. For Jameson Taillon, it was another heave in an ongoing push to liberation from a disease that can break down the toughest of men.
Custom 4North Shore NotesPress Room