UnitedHealthcare Health insurance that includes all Western PA hospitals
Tuesday August 16 2022
Leave this field empty.

Bouncing into the Big 12

PSR Logo
Mountaineers set to debut in the Big 12

The 2012-13 season will mark the first in which the West Virginia Mountaineers play in the Big 12 and, under likely Hall of Fame coach Bob Huggins, WVU should contend for the Big 12 conference title right away and find itself in the NCAA Tournament come March.


His Team
Aaric Murray: Although Murray spent his freshman and sophomore seasons playing at LaSalle, his averages of 15.2 points and 7.7 rebounds per game indicate the 6’10”, 245-lb. junior center indicate he will literally be the centerpiece of this year’s Mountaineer squad.


Newcomer to Watch
Matt Humphrey: Although Humphrey will be a senior this season and is not a newcomer in the traditional sense after transferring from Oregon to Boston College to WVU, Humphrey will provide experience and scoring on the wing and should improve on his average of 10.3 points per game from last season.


Time to Blossom
Deniz Kilicli:
The 6’9”, 260-lb. senior will start alongside Murray in the post this season and figures to become one of the premier post players in the Big 12 this season.  Kilicli put up 10.7 points and 5.3 rebounds per game last season, and will need to elevate his game to offset the loss of last year’s Big East leading scorer and rebounder, Kevin Jones.


Schedule
Mon, Nov 12 at #21 Gonzaga 11:59 PM
Thu, Nov 22 Old Spice Classic vs Marist (Lake Buena Vista, Fla.)
Fri, Nov 23 Old Spice Classic vs Clemson/Davidson/Oklahoma/UTEP (Lake Buena Vista, Fla.)
US PresswireSun, Nov 25 Old Spice Classic vs vs Clemson/Davidson/Oklahoma/UTEP (Lake Buena Vista, Fla.)
Wed, Nov 28 vs Virginia Military 7:00 PM
Wed, Dec 5 vs Marshall* 7:30 PM
Sat, Dec 8 vs Virginia Tech 4:00 PM
Tue, Dec 11 at Duquesne 7:00 PM
Sat, Dec 15 vs #5 Michigan* 8:00 PM
Wed, Dec 19 vs Oakland 9:00 PM
Sat, Dec 22 vs Radford 4:00 PM
Sun, Dec 30 vs Eastern Kentucky 4:00 PM
Sat, Jan 5 vs Oklahoma 4:00 PM
Wed, Jan 9 at Texas 9:00 PM
Sat, Jan 12 vs Kansas State 1:30 PM
Wed, Jan 16 at Iowa State 9:00 PM
Sat, Jan 19 at Purdue 2:00 PM
Wed, Jan 23 vsTCU 7:30 PM
Sat, Jan 26 at Oklahoma State 1:00 PM
Mon, Jan 28 vs #7 Kansas 9:00 PM
Sat, Feb 2 at Texas Tech 1:30 PM
Mon, Feb 4 vs Texas 9:00 PM
Sat, Feb 9 at TCU 4:00 PM
Wed, Feb 13 at #19 Baylor 9:00 PM 
Sat, Feb 16 vs Texas Tech 4:00 PM 
Mon, Feb 18 at Kansas State 9:00 PM 
Sat, Feb 23 vs Oklahoma State 2:00 PM
Wed, Feb 27 vs #19 Baylor 8:00 PM
Sat, Mar 2 at #7 Kansas 2:00 PM
Wed, Mar 6 at Oklahoma 9:00 PM
Sat, Mar 9 vs Iowa State 1:30 PM

Share
PSR VIDEO
See video
Full size video and summary... Misc YouTube Player 1 Penguins TV Channel
See video
Full size video and summary... Misc YouTube Player 2Penguins TV Channel
See video
Full size video and summary... Misc YouTube Player 3Penguins TV Channel
Josh Bell had not hit a walk-off home run since he was a member of the Altoona Curve in 2015. He changed that Friday with a soaring shot for the left field loonies.
Custom 1North Shore Notes
Francisco Cervelli is as passionate about the current state of Venezuela as anybody you'll find. Last month, the Pirates' catcher spoke passionately about the movement, his country's state of affairs and the future of Venezuela.
Custom 2North Shore NotesPress Room
Gustav Nyquist and Jimmy Howard led the way for the Red Wings, who landed Pittsburgh its fourth straight regulation loss.
Blue LineCustom 3Press Room
Monday night was more than a game. For Jameson Taillon, it was another heave in an ongoing push to liberation from a disease that can break down the toughest of men.
Custom 4North Shore NotesPress Room